The first selection of nominees for the 2016 Berlin Music Video Awards is here! These are the first 10 of the total 133 nominees that will be selected by April 15.  The last official submission deadline is April 1st.

What sets us apart from other film festivals is that we nominate a set of 10 nominees once a month  to generate buzz around the nominee’s video release date.


BERLIN MUSIC VIDEO AWARDS 2016 – NOMINEES (SET… von berlinmusicvideoawards

…and the first round of nominees are:


Nicolas Godin – Widerstehe Doch Der Sünde

Because Music

Riff Raff Films l The Sacred Egg


Data – Don’t Sing

EOS Records

Iconoclast & Standart Films l David Bertram


Savage – Like Michael Jackson

Ministry of Sound Australia

Paper Moose l James Chappell


Sad Girl – Norma and Jessica

Hard Feelings Records

Bellpepper Pictures l David Gantz & Theo Cohn


Stromae – Quand C’est

Mosaert & Island France & Mercury

Benuts & Mosaert l Xavier Reye


Azel Phara – Green

Mill +

Biff l Le Nezet & Jules Janaud


Skinny Days – Alright Right Now

Warner Norway

Almondo Films l Mats Udd


Be Quiet – Ichor




Rasabasa – Vessels




Rone – Acid Reflux


Ilan Cohen & Boris Levy


Hope you enjoyed it.

123 to go… stay tuned!






The first of 3 Deadlines for submissions this year is just around the corner.
You can find more info about the deadlines on our website:



Why should you send your entry earlier?

1. We will have more time to watch your video – when it gets closer to the final deadline we receive a large quantity of submissions in a short space of time.

2. Unlike other festivals, we are already starting to nominate videos (10 videos every few weeks). Videos that aren’t selected now will be considered for the next rounds (130 nomination empty places). Videos that are submitted around the final deadline have a lower chance of being nominated (by then 30-40 nomination empty places).

3. Earlier submissions are cheaper!

4. If you’re aware of your nomination earlier, you have more time to prepare for visiting the event (booking cheap flights and so on..)

We officially start accepting your videos for 2016 from the 1st September. This year we guarantee better prizes for the category winners and the final winner will receive not 1, not 2, but €3000 in cash!


What’s more… this year 3 nominees will get a golden pass to the finals!! Yes, yes, you heard it right… That means that even if a video is not a category winner, you might find it in the finals running for the big prize. Why? Because every year we feel that some videos are awesome, even if they don’t get to be the best of their category.


As always, it’s better to send us your videos early since we like to give them the maximum attention and time.
Stay tuned on our social media! We have much more news to come…


Before we embark on another delicious music video roller coaster, we would like to remind you how the entire event looked like:




Interviews by:
Carmen Talavera Armero
Deborah Di Nauta
Maxwell Duryea
Cyril Haas
Nicolas Belhomme
Sarah Hughes
Julia Patey
Bojan Marelja
Katalina Bonilla
Laureen Bolton
Flóra Zsemlye
Donkong – Jaws
Steril – erstschlag
Robot Koch Ft. Born in flamez and Curtain Blue – Let me